My Passion

My name is Brooke, my favorite sport is volleyball and I’ve loved it and been playing since I was 6 years old. From the second I picked up my first volleyball my mom said she knew that volleyball was going to be my favorite, and that I was going to work hard to become the best that I could be. I first started because my friend Ava played volleyball and said it was so fun and that I should try it, so I started playing at Sports of all Sorts. A few years ago I moved on and decided to do a Griffin Elite Crush camp, after finishing that camp I went on to NKYVC, a volleyball camp in the state of Kentucky. Then after those camps I tried out for the Gators 6th grade volleyball team, and made it. From that point on I knew that I wanted to be a great volleyball player and accomplish big things in life.

Dani Johnson with the kill Al Case via Compfight

I play volleyball for my schools team! Also my favorite position is outside hitter, there are six players on the court, they are left front (outside hitter) middle front, right front (setter) right back (server) middle back, and left back. Some tips and tricks on basic helpful tips of the game are, 1. Don’t run with your hand together, this will help you by giving you more time to get to the ball and make a great pass.   2. When your over-hand serving make sure to use the palm of your hand instead of a fist because if you do use a fist there is a chance of you breaking your fingers trying to serve with a fist.   3. When you are getting ready to pass make sure your knees are bent and your feet are shoulder width apart. When the ball is coming to you make sure you are calling “mine”, this keeps you and your teammates from getting hurt because if you call “mine” your teammates know that you have the ball and to back off which keeps you from running into each other. When the ball is in your hands and you are passing it, be sure to not rely on you arms to do the work. Push through the ball with your legs, also wherever your shoulders and hips are facing, that’s where the ball will go, so make sure you get to the ball and you are facing the setter who can set you a great set in order to make an aggressive play and hit the ball or freeball it over to the other team.


2 thoughts on “My Passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *